qualify for the program

Qualifies?

The Public Service Commission of Utah is a government agency that regulates utilities. It has been established, through statute, that the Commission administer funds that provide assistance to qualified individuals who require hearing assistive telecommunication devices. The legislature has established the following qualifications for the Relay Utah Program.

In order for individuals to qualify for phone equipment, applicants must be receiving assistance from a public assistance program administered by a state agency or have an income of 200% or less than the Federal Poverty Guidelines. 

Examples of Public Assistance Programs in Utah:

  • Medicaid
  • Children Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
  • Utah Telephone Assistance Program (UTAP/Lifeline)
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
  • Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF)
  • Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
  • Home Energy Assistance Target Program (HEAT)

Maximum Household Income Allowed to Qualify

Relay Utah Income Guidelines 200%
Family Size Gross Monthly Income Gross Annual Income
1 $2,023 $24,280
2 $2,743 $32,920
3 $3,463 $41,560
4 $4,183 $50,200
5 $4,903 $58,840
Each Additional Person $720 $8,640

Disability Definition

Application Process - In order to have your application reviewed by Relay Utah, you will need to:

  • Download and complete the Hearing Assistive Device or Wireless Device Application. If you are under 18 years of age, a parent or legal guardian must also sign the form.
  • Include documentation that you are receiving assistance from a public assistance program administered by a state agency or have an income of 200% or less than the Federal Poverty Guidelines.
  • Have one of the following certify the application:

Physician

Otolaryngologist

Audiologist

Speech Language Pathologist

Qualified State Agency Employee

  • Mail the application to the Public Service Commission of Utah:

Public Service Commission of Utah
c/o Relay Utah
Box 45585
160 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Upon approval of the application, the applicant will be notified of a date and time for equipment delivery and the required training. A parent or legal guardian must accompany the applicant to sign for equipment if 18 years of age or younger.